Did You Know?

Did You Know?

Okay, so that last post was kind of intense, so I want to lighten the mood. Earlier today, I was thinking of what I could write for my next blog post. Unfortunately, I ran out of ideas, and I was bored. Being the weird math nerd that I am, I looked up “weird math facts” for fun. I saw some pretty wacky stuff, and I want to share it with you. Test out your knowledge of math – let’s see how many of these facts you’re familiar with.

So, did you know…

1. If you write out pi backwards to two decimal places, it spells out “pie.”

pie2

2. If you multiply 111,111,111 by 111,111,111, you get 12,345,678,987,654,321. Multiplying ones always results in palindromic numbers.

3. If you shuffle a deck of cards properly, it is likely that the specific order of the cards has never been seen before in the history of the universe.

4. There is not enough space in the known universe to write a googolplex on paper. (To clarify, googolplex is 10 to the power of a googol. A googol is 10 to the power of 10 to the power of 100. Another fun fact: Google was named after googol.)

5. Calculus means “pebbles” in Latin because Romans used to use small pebbles to count on an abacus.
220px-roman_tablet_employed_in_making_arithmetical_calculations_281478112992129

6. Ancient Babylonians did math in Base 60 instead of Base 10 (the decimal system), which is why there are 60 minutes in an hour and 360 degrees in a circle.

7. Newton discovered/invented calculus in the same amount of time that it takes a student to learn it.

8. The number 7 is the most popular number, according to numerous studies. This is because it is “arithmetically unique.”

9. A study found that students who chew gum have better test scores than those who don’t.

10. Ted Kaczynski, more commonly known as the Unabomber, was a great mathematician – until he went insane and started killing people. theodore_kaczynski

11. A sphere has two sides – the outside and the inside.

12. The man who discovered the Fibonacci Sequence used a pseudonym- his real name was Leonardo de Pisa.

13. The only number that could not be written in Roman Numerals is 0. The Hindus were the first to discover this number.

14. The “equal to” sign (=) was invented in 1557 by a Welsh mathematician, Robert Recorde, who didn’t want to write “is equal to” over and over in his mathematical papers.

15.  The Mona Lisa was painted according to the Golden Ratio (1.618). This number is found everywhere, not just in art.

4d34b59694a585355a8d9b58e30b3181

16. Circles aren’t the only shapes that have a constant width. Meaning, if I wanted, I could dig a square hole.

17. 0.99999….. (repeating) = 1. There are proofs for this online, but I won’t get into that.

18. In 1900, everything known about math could be written in about 80 books. Today it can fill more than 100,000 thousand books.

19. The next sentence is true but you mustn’t believe it.

20. The last sentence was false.

Alright, technically those last two weren’t actually facts. I just wanted to mess with you guys   (I know, I know, I have an odd sense of humor).

Well, this was an extremely short post. I’ll end it by saying that I hope you guys learned something cool. Oh, and I’ll add a math-related picture, too.

who_knew_math_can_be_funny_640_08

Haha. Anyway, see you guys later!

Sources:

  • Oakes, Kelly. “23 Fascinating Maths Facts You’ll Probably Never Need To Use.” BuzzFeed. N.p., n.d. Web. 23 May 2017.
  • Bogomolny, Alexander. “Did You Know That… Random Interesting Math Facts.” Random Interesting Math Facts. N.p., n.d. Web. 24 May 2017.
  • Wilson, Brooke. “Where the Equal Sign Came From.” Pinterest. N.p., 22 Oct. 2014. Web. 24 May 2017.
  • Mathematics, RightStart. “Interesting Math Facts.” Pinterest. N.p., 13 July 2015. Web. 24 May 2017.
  • Personalized, Learning. “Real World Math Problems.” Pinterest. N.p., 01 Feb. 2015. Web. 24 May 2017.
One thought on “Did You Know?

  1. Hey Ananya,
    Your blog post was fascinating and I really learned some new things today. I had heard very few of these facts before, and I had no idea that if you shuffle a deck of cards properly, it has likely never been seen in the history of the universe. I’ll remember that the next time I am shuffling cards. Thanks for making my day!
    Abirami

    Like

Leave a Reply

